The Sustainer

Psalms 55-60

psalm-55-22-large

January 3, 2017

Have you ever felt like everyone is against you? We have all had people we don’t know judge us by our clothes, hair, where we live and go to school, and even for being Christian. What about when it’s a friend or worse, a family member? That is how David was feeling. He was betrayed by a close friend and he wanted vengeance; not just from him, but from God. David wanted to run and hide, to find a place where he wasn’t being pursued. We have all felt like this at one time or another, so where can we go?

Ps 56:3-5 “When I am afraid, I will trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me? All day long they twist my words, they are always plotting to harm me.”

Psalm 56 talks about putting our trust in God when man is attacking us. For every time someone is talking you down, God is your refuge. When a friend may be talking behind your back; put your trust in God, and He will keep you safe. He won’t punish the ones speaking against you, He will comfort you.

PS 60:16 “But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.”

No matter what you or I are going through, God is stronger. God is our refuge and will always protect us!

-Susan Johnson

(Photo credit: http://www.psalmsquotes.com/psalm-55-22.htm)

Leave a Reply

